Day 5 of the Piñata Challenge

Paste, paste and more paste.

I pasted for hours again today. Tomorrow I’m going to take a break and start on the decorations. That will be fun for me and a little more interesting for the blog than pictures of shredded newspaper.

The Perfect Pumpkin Shape

We’ve been brainstorming how to get the perfect pumpkin shape. We started with a punch balloon. They have a rounder shape than regular balloons. After we blew it up, we tied strings around it to give it that pumpkin feel. They just kept slipping off and we couldn’t tie them tight enough to give it definition. The next thing I tried was to tie the strings on after I did a layer of papier mache. That worked a little better. After we had the strings around the balloon we would try giving it the pumpkin shape by smashing it a little and letting it dry.

Smashing pumpkins

We’ve tried it three times and each time gets a little better. Here are the three prototypes in a row.

The balloon on the left will be cut from the pumpkin contest and cut in two! I will make it into 2 ladybugs.

A Purple, Pegusas, Unicorn Pony
I decided the extra reindeer will become a pony. I came across a stash of purple tissue paper at a yard sale and I can’t think of much else I can do purple. Besides, I can make it all glittery and sparkly  with a flowing mane and tail. What could be more fun?

Beginnings of a Girly Girl Piñata

You can’t see it too well in this photo, but I cut of the head and turned it so that it’s looking forward. I made the bottom of the feet rounder and added the horn. I will add the wings when I decorate. I have some iridescent cellophane I will use.

So here is the new total.

  1. Frog
  2. Mole
  3. Santa Head
  4. Turkey
  5. Pumpkin
  6. ‘nther Pumpkin
  7. Haunted House
  8. Wedding Cake
  9. Mark’s Owl
  10. Paula’s Owl
  11. Burrito with flower basket
  12. Christmas tree
  13. Orange ladybug
  14. Red ladybug
  15. Pegasus, unicorn

Leave a Reply

