20 Pinatas in 20 Days – Day 1

I should explain that we are not starting from scratch. We already have several pinatas in the works. I went downstairs last night to photograph our mess of balloons and newspapers. Here’s what we’ve got going.

Unfinished Frog Pinata

This frog is already for paint. He has a silly grin and is holding up his arms as if to say,”Go ahead, give it your best shot!”  This is Mark’s work of art.

What will these become?

What’s a good Father’s Day present? Papier Mache Balloons – of course! Our son papier mached several balloons for Mark. It was a terrific gift. After looking at them last night, Mark decided to make a turkey out of the big one.

Unfinished Santa Head and Mole

I started this Santa head many years ago and I’ve worked on it off and on. I’ve taken it with us through several moves. Mark said I can sell it as vintage. I’m determined to finish it this year.

A Mole to Whack
A Mole to Whack

Moles are really ugly creatures. People will want to whack this pinata.

So here is what we had to start with:

  1. Frog
  2. Mole
  3. Santa Head

Last night we went to work on several more. I spent several hours cutting up a Tupperware bowl. I needed this shape without the ridge around the top. Oh, it wasn’t one of my good bowls, I bought it at the DI just for this project.

Did you know you CAN cut Tupperware

Last night Mark decided to do a turkey, we started a pumpkin, a haunted house and a wedding cake. So here’s the list of what we’ve got going so far.

  1. Frog
  2. Mole
  3. Santa Head
  4. Turkey
  5. Pumpkin
  6. Haunted House
  7. Wedding Cake

Only 13 more projects to decide. Any suggestions?

2 thoughts on “20 Pinatas in 20 Days – Day 1

  1. How about a dreidl? Then you’ll have all the major fall/winter holidays covered. BTW, I love the whack-a-mole!

Leave a comment